The haircut that taught me to not break promises and Easy Canvas Prints

A few days after Valentine’s Day, I was taking the boys to Jenner Hanson Photography for a mini session.  I had picked out cut outfits and figured out shoes and all that….then…merely an hour before we were supposed to leave, I was fixing/brushing the boys hair.  When suddenly….I had this PANIC that Jackson HAD to have his hair trimmed, just a little or the end of the world as we know it would occur.

Now, it was much too late to take him to a barber to do it, but I thought, “Hey, it’s just a tiny trim to get some hair out of this eyes…I can do it!”

Well, here is the thing….long ago I swore I would NEVER EVER EVER cut Jackson’s hair.  His hair is fine and easy to mess up (let’s ask a few barber’s around town who have messed it up.)

Yet there I stood…in the bathroom, with the scissors that came with the clippers I use to cut the other boys hair.

And I snipped.  And snipped.  And mentally cussed.  And snipped.  And tossed hair to the wind.

WHAT WAS I DOING?

So, in the end, Jackson was literally crying in a heap on the ground (he’s very sensitive about his hair), I was on the verge of tears, and it was time to go.

So, we piled into the van, drove in the dark to Jeni’s studio, and I promised all kinds of things to get Jackson out of the van and into the studio.  The main promise:  I WILL NEVER EVER EVER CUT JACK’s HAIR AGAIN.

The actual shoot was uneventful.  Jeni does a great job.  The boys smiled, felt awkward, posed, stood naturally, etc, etc.  Jack’s hair didn’t even look that bad, when I looked at her screen.  But when we saw the proofs online, all the memories of my bad decision came flooding back to me.

Well, when I was trying to figure out which picture to get printed on canvas for my easycanvasprints.com order, it was hard…I wanted to print a picture that told a story, that would make us happy.  I looked at pictures for days and days.  I’d look at the most recent (and obvious) choice:  Jenner Hanson’s photo shoot.

Then I’d shy away, thinking, “I don’t want a memory of that disaster on my walls!”

However, as time went on, I decided I did want one of those pictures up as a canvas, and not just printed for the scrapbooks and grandparents wallets.  I wanted to see the picture and use it as a reminder to listen to my kids when they express doubt (Jack had questioned my decision to “trim” his bangs).  And also to remind myself  1)  things aren’t always as bad as they seem (the pictures are way cute and you can’t even hardly tell Jack’s hair is butchered) and 2) don’t second guess yourself…long ago I had made a silent promise to myself to NEVER cut his hair…I shouldn’t have gone back on my promise. 😉

So, thanks easycanvasprints.com for helping preserve this memory, this lesson.  It was so easy to order from their website, literally a few clicks and BAM canvas ordered.  Thank heavens, because simplicity is what I needed after this shaky experience with the haircut.

WP_20140724_10_28_14_Pro (2)Please note:  It was overcast when I snapped this picture and I didn’t want to use the flash, so I did not get the best quality picture.  HOWEVER…the actual print is crisp and beautiful, with the image wrapped around the edges, just as I asked for.

 

A big thank you to  Easy Canvas Prints for this review.  I was not paid for my opinion…all mine.  Check them out…it really is easy and their canvas looks beautiful on my lightly teal wall. 🙂

About Jess

Boy Crazy, Cake Baker, LSU loving, LDS blogging Mama!
This entry was posted in Reviews, The Joys of Boys, We Can Do Hard Things and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The haircut that taught me to not break promises and Easy Canvas Prints

  1. Sasha says:

    Oh no, poor guy and poor momma! 🙂 The photo looks great–I will have to check them out!

Leave a Reply

