Family Recipes

This Thanksgiving, while visiting Bart’s Aunt Jeanie, I was given two recipes that I want to record here…so if I lose them I still have an electronic copy.

The first is for Bart’s mother’s Cheesecake.  Ms. Glenda passed away in 2002, and I never got her recipe.  Aunt Jeanie had it and she gave me a copy…in Ms. Glenda’s handwriting, which made it even more special. And…without further ado, Plain Cheesecake:

Beat 2 softened packages of cream cheese with 1/2 cup sugar until fluffy.  Add 2 eggs and 1 tsp. vanilla (she adds a little lemon juice, too).  Beat until smooth.  Pour into graham crust.  Bake at 350 degrees for 45-55 minutes until almost set or cracked on top.

I am sure there are other recipes out there the same or similar, but since I never even knew about her recipe at all, it is new to me.  I can’t wait to make it for our family for Christmas.

The second recipe is one I LOVE….MawMaw Falgout’s Cornbread Dressing.  It is not like any other dressing I’ve ever had.  Aunt Linda has told me how to make it…and this year the recipe stuck to my mind.  Then, Aunt Jeanie pulled out the written recipe and I almost cried I was so excited.  This will be served at our Christmas dinner as well.

1 lb. each: ground meat and ground pork
3 boxes of Jiffy Corn Muffin Mix (baked and crumbled a few days before)

1 pkg. Brown Gravy Mix

2 beef bouillon cubes

chopped onion, garlic, celery, green onions

2 cups water

  1. brown ground meat and pork.
  2. add chopped seasonings
  3. add 1 cup of water and bouillon cubes.  simmer about 10 minutes.
  4. add brown gravy mix and 1 cup water.  simmer until cooked down to a thicker gravy.
  5. begin adding crumbled corn bread until mixture begins to hold together.  mixture will be moist, but not soupy.

You do not bake this dressing.

Tastes GREAT with roast gravy!!!!

About Jess

Boy Crazy, Cake Baker, LSU loving, LDS blogging Mama!
This entry was posted in Family, Giving Thanks, Holidays and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

