Holy Heat Wave

It’s been unseasonably hot here in Omaha, Ne.

Grass is no longer green.

Flowers have wilted to a brown nothingness.

The ice cream truck is now selling hotsicles because the dilly bars melted into nothingness.

Children lay around lazily, awaiting a cool breeze so they can move and play.  They day dream of the pumpkin patches and crisp mornings coming in a few short months.  Parents lay around lazily, thinking they should go put in a load of laundry, but change their mind, thinking they will do it later, once the “conserve electricity hours” have past…no one wants to be the cause of a brown out!  Parents dream of cooking dinner, but then feed the kids another peanut butter and jelly sandwich, because the thought of turning on the stove or oven is just too much to bear.

I sure hope and pray this drought and heat wave are over soon…my dad told me today that a bee farmer we know is having no honey produced because of this awful weather.

Good thing we have a honey surplus at our house from last year…

Y’all don’t forget to pray for the farmers and others whose livelihood is based on the weather…my brown grass is no big deal to me, just an eye sore, but the brown dry fields are a huge problem area, from the farmers to those of us shopping at the supermarkets come this fall.

Let’s all get out there and do a BIG OLE RAIN DANCE tonight and bring some rain to the midwest!!!!  🙂

 

Though…on the bright side…I haven’t cut my grass in WEEKS and it looks as short as it did when I first cut it.  I kind of call that a win.

About Jess

Boy Crazy, Cake Baker, LSU loving, LDS blogging Mama!
This entry was posted in Omaha, Summer Fun!, We Can Do Hard Things and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Holy Heat Wave

  1. Nicole says:

    Everyone else’s grass looks as bad as ours for the first time ever. I do hope for some rain. This weather is crazy, but I guess that’s what I get for living in Nebraska. 🙂

    • Jessica says:

      LOL, that is how I feel as well!!! Everyone else’s grass finally matches mine, though I am sad to see my annual plants dying so early. 😦 I guess I could have done something to save them…but I like to conserve water. READ: Too cheap to pay for it. 😉

Leave a Reply

