PVC Sprinkler, take 2…a success with room for improvement

We did a take 2 of our PVC pipe sprinkler.

MUCH BETTER!

Now, I will not give you a tutorial (there are many out there) but I will give you a quick run down of what I will do to finish it/what I’d do to make it better if I did it again.

  1. The height of our sprinkler is 5 feet.  I had to buy a PVC pipe and it was 10 feet, so the guy at Ace hardware cut it (for free!) to 5 ft.
  2. I am using PVC pipes I already had for the rest of the pieces, so their sizing is randomly pieced together.  The top pictured is 1 pc. of PVC pipe I had spray painted green for a different project.  I will be using both of my green pieces, hooked with a connector in the middle.
  3. Drilling holes:  I think I used a 3/16 inch drill bit.  My portable drill needed charged, so I drilled most the holes on the sides, then got lazy and quit.  I drilled holes from 12 inches all the way up to the top, every 6 inches.  The holes are somehow not perfectly lined up, so water flies all over, but the boys liked it that way, so I will go with “meant to do that” for that one.  If I were to do it again, I’d not space them so close, but start out with just 1 hole every 12 inches.
    For the top, since I learned from testing it out that 6 inch space was too close, I only drilled holes every 12 inches…we have not tested it out with holes drilled in the top…we will see how that goes.  (Today it is 57 degrees!  It was 93 Sunday!)
  4. I am going to let the boys experiment with the small pieces we had drilled holes in on the sides of the sprinkler.  Where I have the U connecters, I will use a T connector and let them add maybe 1 or 2 pipes on each side, so it has the long base to keep it up but funky fun spray parts on the sides…we will see how that goes.
  5. Don’t worry about it being perfect.  The boys loved the sprinkler, even if it was kind of chilly when we built it (Memorial Day) and not “perfectly straight”.

If you build a PVC sprinkler, please share a picture or link to yours in the comments, I’d love to see what you come up with!

About Jess

Boy Crazy, Cake Baker, LSU loving, LDS blogging Mama!
This entry was posted in Summer Fun!, The Joys of Boys and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to PVC Sprinkler, take 2…a success with room for improvement

  1. PapaJeff says:

    Excellent work! I know the boys (and maybe their parents?) will have fun with it. Having your own is more memorable than going to a park occasionally:)!

Leave a Reply

